May, 14th. International Likhachev Scientific Conference the largest worlds annual forum of the humanities started in SPbUHSS.

Its subject: “Contemporary Global Challenges and National Interests”.

This annual Conference is held at SPbUHSS since 1993 under the initiative of academician Dmitry Likhachev and since 2001 it is named after him subject to the decree of the President of the Russian Federation V.V. Putin ( 587 of 23 May 2001).

Now the Conference is the largest world’s annual forum of the humanities. Usually there are more than 1500 participants. This year there were more than 220 papers submitted by the distinguished scientists, statesmen and social figures from 30 countries.

Articles of participants:

The Plenary meeting was opened by:

Gennady Gatilov – Deputy Foreign Affairs Minister of the Russian Federation, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary

Alexander Zapesotsky – Rector of SPbUHSS, corresponding member of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Doctor of Science (Cultural Studies), Professor, Chairman of the Executive Committee of St-Petersburg intellectuals Congress

Valery Chereshnev – Chairman of the Russian State Duma Committee for science and intensive technologies, Director of Immunology and Physiology Institute at Ural branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Academician of the Russian Academy of Sciences, MD, Professor, Honored Doctor of SPbUHSS.

Among participants of the Conference and those who submitted their papers:

Distinguished Russian scientists, members of the Russian Academy of Sciences, heads of the leading academic institutes and research centers;

Largest representatives of Russian state and social institutes;

There were foreign participants such as:

President of the Kyrgyz Republic (1990-2005), academician pf the Kyrgyz and Russian Academy of Sciences Askar Akaev; Prime Minister of Pakistan (2004-2007) Shaukat Aziz; Foreign Affairs Minister of Spain (2004-2010) Miguel A. Moratinos; Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Mexica in Russia Ruben A.B. Guerrero; President of the Iranian Academy of Sciences Davari Ardakani; President of the International progress organization, professor of Innsbruck University (Austria) Hans Koechler; statesman and public figure, a member of the House of Lords of the British Parliament Lord Colin Moynihan; Minister of Education of Poland (1996-1997), member of the Sejm of the Poland Republic (1991-2001) Jerzy Wiatr; Director of the Syrian Center for the strategic researches Bassam Abu Abdulla; Head of the Washington Center for Islam and the Middle East researches (USA) Ahmad Iravani; Member of the Legislative Assembly of Delhi (India) Alka Lamba; Academician of the National Academy Of Sciences of Ukraine Petr Tolochko; Directoe of the research Center for Eurasia, Russia and Eastern Eurepe studies (Turkey) Tashansu Turker; Chief Editor of the journal “Politics First” (Great Britain) Marcus Papadopoulos; Deputy Chief Editor of “Associated Press” agency (USA) Thomas Kent; Director of the Center for governance and state policy at the University of Carlton (Canada) Piotr Dutkiewicz; Ambassador of Spain in Russia (2008-2011) Juan A. March; chief of the politics analyzes UNDESA department (Switzerland) Manuel Montes; professor of History and Philosophy of the University of Iceland Valur Ingimundarson; professor of the University named after Goethe (Germany) Tamas Bauer; professor of the School of the governance named after Lindon Johnson at the Texas University (USA) James Galbraith; professor of Political Studies in Cairo University, Member of the Foreign Affairs Council of Egypt Nourhan ElSheikh; Director of the Institute of the Eastern Europe and CIS countries in Israel Alexander Zinker, journalist Yury Goligorsky (Great Britain), etc.

Publication date: 22 may 2015